Wood marketing federation [top]
  • Sustainable

  • Versatile

  • Natural

  • Renewable

  • Commercial

  • Beautiful

  • Strong

  • Functional

  • Ecological

  • Durable

  • Recreational

Wood Awards Ireland 2014


Thanks to all who have entered Wood Awards Ireland.  There has been a huge response to the awards. Final judging and site visits have taken place.

Shortlisted projects will be announced on October 24 and awards will be presented in Dublin Castle on November 28.


Michael Warren To Create New Irish Wood Award



Wood Awards Ireland (WAI) promotes wood as a sustainable material in innovative construction and design. WAI rewards architects, engineers, designers and wood workers for creating work in Ireland and overseas, incorporating wood as an inherent medium in their projects with the emphasis on innovation and sustainability.

WAI is organised by the WMF and supported by the RIAI. WAI receives funding and sponsorship from COFORD (National Council for Forest Research & Development), Department of Agriculture, Food & Marine, Enterprise Ireland, AHEC (American Hardwood Export Council), Enterprise Ireland, Coillte and WMF.


Submissions are accepted from practitioners throughout Ireland – north and south – who incorporate wood as the inherent medium in innovative projects.  The international dimension of the project is extremely important, so WAI is also open to Irish practitioners based overseas who complete innovative work for Irish and international markets.

Sustainable timber sourcing and usage is a key element of the project with emphasis on energy efficiency. Timber used must be sourced in sustainably managed forests and conform to the EU Timber Regulation (No 995/2010).

Eligible projects must be completed during the period June 2011 to 30 June 2014 (we are allowing a wide time span for projects as this is the inaugural awards).


Submissions will be accepted under the following categories:

1. Large-scale public buildings – open to public and commercial buildings, commissioned by public or private clients. Building projects such as schools and universities, hospitals, local government buildings, offices, hotels, restaurants, libraries and other buildings with public access will be accepted

2. Small-scale private buildings to include privately funded projects for private or community clients. Open to residential properties either new build or extensions.

3. Restoration and conservation – open to public and private projects that emphasise the creative use of wood in conservation, restoration, renovation and repair.

4. Structural entries accepted for structural projects including timber bridges, boardwalks, shelters, decking, staircases and other internal and external structural projects.

5. Furniture projects will be accepted from designers, furniture makers and other woodworkers or collaborations between designers and makers. Entries accepted for:

  1. Bespoke furniture – to include one-off pieces.
  2. Production furniture – open to single or ensemble pieces, produced in commercial quantities.

6. Innovation and other – internal and external functional and non-functional works including: :

  1.  Wood Local  – open to projects that source timber close to their enterprises providing      employment and  potential markets for timber in that area.
  2. Wood innovate – projects that explore new uses for wood in construction, design, renewable energy or other aspects of sustainable living.
  3. Woodwork – new and traditional wood usage and design including permanent or temporary works (garden, leisure buildings, playground features, craft, sculpture).

7. New entrant – aimed at start up businesses or enterprises where wood is a major element.

8. International wood award – for the best international project under any of the above categories.


Entrants should complete the WAI entry form including 300-350 word description of the project. This should be accompanied by relevant drawings, illustrations and between three and six high quality photographs of the entry, not less than 2,200KB (2.2 MB) per image accepted in PDF or JPEG. These may be produced in the catalogue of finalists published prior to the awards ceremony.

The judging panel will create a shortlist based on entry description including photography and drawings.

All shortlisted entrants will be visited by the judging panel comprising architects, engineers, designers and other relevant specialists.

In addition to information above, the judges will accept additional imagery such as videos and YouTube posts for international projects.


Shortlist: Compiled in August

Project inspection and conference calls: August-September 2014

Selection: 23rd  September 2014

Prizewinners’ announcement: 28th  November 2014 at a gala event at a Dublin venue (to be announced). The judging panel will award an overall prize regardless of category and may award commendations in one or more categories including a special award for an international project (if not the overall winner).

Special Award by Michael Warren

Both the WMF and RIAI are delighted that Michael Warren has accepted the commission to design the WAI 2014 award. Ireland’s foremost sculptor, he has completed major installations in Ireland and overseas including France, Spain, Portugal, Japan, South Korea and Ecuador.  He has received numerous awards for his sculptures – mainly in wood. In  2012 he was awarded Honorary Membership of the RIAI.

Entries and accompanying information by email ( or post to the Wood Marketing Federation,  Heatherbrook, Marlton Road, Wicklow, Co. Wicklow, Ireland by 31stJuly 2014.

Donal Magner


Wood Marketing Federation

3 June 2014